Love Letters to the Home Office

Although it might seem like all of my life is taken up with movie watching, outfit picking, cooking and general mischief and nostalgia, I do occasionally involve myself in something a little bit more serious.

Almost two months ago a colleague of mine approached me about getting involved in a project he was working on. He (Jason) and I are both British Citizens who started our lives elsewhere. Me in South Africa and him in the United States. Over the years we have shared our immigration and visa woes and given each other tips on the best ways to jump through the UKBA’s (as it was then) various hoops. Jason’s friend, Katharine, was recently affected by the Family Migration Law of 2012, which specifies a minimum income of £18,600 p.a. for a British citizen in order for them to sponsor a non-EU spouse (increasing with every child where there are children). She has been married to her partner, Raco for over 18 months but he has only been allowed to live with her in the UK very recently.

Before I go into the project, I want to explain how unfair this law is in practice. First of all, 47% of all British citizens would not be able to meet this criteria and even worse, 61% of women would not be able to. Secondly the non-EU partner’s income is in no way considered. So even if the non-EU partner earns a gazillion pounds they would not be able to live with their partner and family. Thirdly it says in the EU Human Rights convention that you have the right to marry whomever you want and to have a family life. Deciding who gets to have human rights depending on their income is flat out wrong.

To make people aware of how British families are being affected, Katharine came up with the idea of getting people who have been separated from their families by the law to send in their love letters to be collated and published in a book called Love Letters to the Home Office. As someone who feels really passionate about Human Rights I was really excited to get involved and started out by doing some ghost writing and helping out with the social media, especially around our first petition urging for a change in the law.

The book, which you can and should buy here, has now been published and will officially be launched tomorrow night. While we were gathering stories of those who have been affected by the unfair Family Migration law of 2012, we realised that no one we encountered, including ourselves, had had a positive experience of dealing with the Home Office Visas and Immigration Section. So as part of the launch we decided to write a manifesto of how the Home Office should operate it’s visas and immigration section and that’s the second part of what I’ve been working on. Tomorrow night I will read out the manifesto that I have written with the help of Jason and Katharine and which is also available as a petition.

If this is something you also care about you can read the stories here, sign the petitions here and here, connect with us on Facebook and Twitter and even attend the launch if you’re based in London… and you can buy the book no matter where you live.

lovelettersbook

 

12 Comments

  1. Abbi, this is amazing! I clearly don’t have immigration issues in the UK, but I still want to thank you for all you’re doing. People like you make the world a better place!

    1. Abbi

      That’s so kind of you and thank-you for liking the Facebook page too. I hope to have a video of me reading the manifesto up soon.

      1. 🙂 Looking forward to that.

  2. Jen

    Well done, huge congrats to you all for pulling it together.

    1. Abbi

      Thank-you! It was for you as well after the fuckers kicked you out!

  3. Wow! Very interesting post. “Deciding who gets to have human rights depending on their income is flat out wrong.” Quite right! I would like to get this book….

    1. Abbi

      We’re shipping worldwide from Amazon so I hope you manage to order one. It’s a deeply touching read.

  4. Wow, what a great project. That is really wrong. Thank you for trying to make life better for others. I wish you a ton of success with this campaign! I already ordered the book.

    1. Abbi

      Thank-you so much and thank-you for ordering the book. I hope it finds its way to you soon. I hope to have a video of me reading the manifesto up soon too.

  5. Thank you so much for working on this book! I can’t wait for my copy to arrive. Off to write my blog post on it…

    1. Abbi

      It’s been wonderful being part of it! Hope your book arrives soon and I look forward to reading your post!

  6. […] of you will have read about the Love Letters to the Home Office project I’ve been working on. Last Monday we launched the book (which you can buy on Amazon). […]

abbiosbiston is listening...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.