100 Days of Happiness: Day 41 – 50

I’m halfway through the 100 Days of Happiness challenge now and I’m still finding happy things every day. Although I have to admit that as the days go past I sometimes almost forget to capture them but fortunately I have always remembered at the last minute. I think the last ten days the theme has largely been about finding ways to de-stress from hectic times at work but focusing on happiness has definitely kept things in balance.

Day 41

41On this particular day it had been a little drizzly all day. I left my good brolly at my friend, Dawn’s house, a few weeks ago and I haven’t gotten around to collecting it so I was just managing without. On the way home something made me pop into Primark and buy a cheapie. It turned out to be absolutely the right idea because when I came out of the gym it was raining like the Armageddon… so I was really, really happy that I didn’t get wet.

Day 42

42

This is Mr O. He is gorgeous. I get to come home to him every night. It makes me very happy.

Day 43

43
I had a long and very hectic day at work and I was super glad to be on my couch with my feet up. Sometimes that’s the best feeling in the world.

Day 44

44About once a month my book club gets together. Sometimes we do calm things like go for a run or have brunch but more often than not it’s just a lot of drinking and a lot of giggling and inappropriate conversations. I can’t explain how much i look forward to it. This month’s book club started with these cocktails… which were called Jamaica Peaches.

Day 45

45

Since I was a child I have suffered from terrible hayfever, which became significantly worse when I moved to London. I usually spend about 4 months of the year snotting and sneezing and battling through swollen eyes and infected sinuses. For some reason I have barely sneezed this year which has been life changing. This is a box of antihistamines that I have been carrying around that I have not had to take.

Day 46

46

It’s no secret that I really love baking so on Sunday I decided to experiment with a new cookie recipe as well as making some carrot cupcakes. This was all my ingredients ready to go. Although I did miss my sous chef, Jen, who I always used to rope in to help before she had to move back to Australia.

Day 47

47

Sometimes all you want to eat is something warm, hearty and packed with flavour. This sausage casserole might not look like the most exciting thing in the world but it never fails to deliver and whenever I have it bubbling on the stove it fills me with a great sense of anticipation. When hadn’t had it in a while so I was happy to enjoy an old favourite.

Day 48

48

My mum-in-law bought me these awesome socks for Christmas and I hadn’t gotten around to wearing them but I found the perfect outfit to put them with and they’re purple and it reminded me that it was the first time I’d worn ankle socks since high school!

Day 49

49

As you might have read yesterday, I got to go to a sneak preview of Dawn of the Planet of the Apes courtesy of my lovely friend, Kerri and it was brilliant. Can’t wait to see the full film!

Day 50

50

I had a long and stressful day at work but this last year of working out has taught me that the best way to shake off the day is through exercise. It helps to clear your mind and push any tension out of your body with hard work and sweat… and when it comes to generating that sweat, nothing makes me happier than the step machine. #feeltheburn

 

5 thoughts on “100 Days of Happiness: Day 41 – 50

  1. Oh Abbi… I totally get the sinus thing. MEH it fucking SUCKS!

    Lucky you to have Mr O. A wonderful and gorgeous other half always makes things that much better ;)

    Those socks are adorable!

The Wild Things are listening...

