My top 10 movies of 2013

As 2013 is about to come to an end it seems apt to make the final top 10 of the year all about the year that’s been. These probably are not the best films that were released in 2013 but of all the ones that I saw, these are the ones I enjoyed the most.

warm_bodiesWarm Bodies
Starring: Nicholas Hoult, Teresa Palmer, John Malkovich
Why did I love it?: This human-zombie love story is one of the most touching tales of the power of love I’ve seen in years. It also has a kick ass sound track.
Did everyone else love it?: Er… no. A lot of zombie purists found the entire premise a bit ridiculous (it’s a metaphor, guys) and quite a few people dismissed it as being just another Twilight.
“R: [voice-over] What am I doing with my life? I’m so pale. I should get out more. I should eat better. My posture is terrible. I should stand up straighter. People would respect me more if I stood up straighter. What’s wrong with me? I just want to connect. Why can’t I connect with people? Oh, right, it’s because I’m dead. I shouldn’t be so hard on myself. I mean, we’re all dead. This girl is dead. That guy is dead. That guy in the corner is definitely dead. Jesus these guys look awful.”

The-Hunt-movieThe Hunt
Starring: Mads Mikkelsen, Thomas Bo Larsen, Annika Wedderkopp
Why did I love it?: Mikkelsen gives a masterful performance as a man falsely accused of pedophilia. It also forces the viewer to ask several difficult moral questions of him or herself.
Did everyone else love it?: It’s won and been nominated for multiple international awards and received worldwide critical acclaim.
[subtitled version]
Lucas: What are you saying? Have you got something to say me?
Agnes: Stop it, Lucas.
Lucas: You want to tell me something?
Theo: Relax, Lucas
Lucas: The whole town is listening, Tell me! what do you want to say?
Agnes: Stop it, you fucking psychopath!
Lucas: I want a word with Theo. look into my eyes. look me in the eyes. what do you see? do you see anything? nothing. There’s nothing. There’s nothing. you leave me alone now. you leave me alone now, Theo. Then I’ll go. Thank you.

kick-ass-2-1_2642228bKick-Ass 2
Starring: Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Chloë Grace Moretz, Christopher Mintz-Plasse
Why did I love it?: It was outrageous, violent and filthy and made me laugh so hard I snorted on several occasions
Did everyone else love it?: No. It wasn’t nearly as well received as the first one and a lot of people found it too crude and violent.
“Dave Lizewski: You’re not scared, to die?
Mindy Macready: Are you scared you’re never gonna grow into your big boy pants?
Dave Lizewski: I’m serious. What if Spider-Man or Batman got killed one night? Like, it could happen.
Mindy Macready: If you’re scared of dying, one thing is certain – you are going to die. My daddy was never afraid of dying.
Dave Lizewski: Look where that got him.
Mindy Macready: He knew he might have to make the ultimate sacrifice one day. And that’s why he made me promise I’d never stop defending this city. Cross my heart, hope to die.
Dave Lizewski: Your dad was insane. You know that, right?
Mindy Macready: You’re wrong, Dave. My daddy was the first real superhero. Not you or Red Mist. It was my daddy, and it was an honor to serve by his side.

stoker_kidmanStoker
Why did I love it?: It was dark, disturbing and completely sucked me in. I loved the cinematography and the general weirdness.
Did everyone love it?: Again, no. It received a mixed reception with a lot of people not getting the concept and calling it derivative and shallow.
India Stoker: What do you want from me?
Charles Stoker: To be friends.
India Stoker: We don’t need to be friends. We’re family.

RUSHRush
Why did I love it?: Every moment of this film was engrossing and exciting. It took a sports rivalry really only known within a small community and made you desperate to know how it would end.
Did everyone love it?: It was definitely the sleeper hit of 2013.
“James Hunt: I feel responsible for what happened.
Niki Lauda: You are… but trust me: watching you win those races, while I was fighting for my life, you were equally responsible for getting me back in the car.”

despicable-me-2Despicable Me 2
Starring (voice actors): Steve Carell, Kristen Wiig, Benjamin Bratt
Why did I love it?: Nothing makes me laugh more than Minions and this had even more Minions than the first one. I also love the relationship between Gru and his adopted daughters.
Did everyone love it?: Well, everyone who loves Minions did
“Gru: [in falsetto] It is I, Gru-
[pauses]
Gru: zinkerbell, the most magical faerie princess of all!
Young Boy: [interrupts] How come you’re so fat?
Gru: [annoyed] Because my house is made out of candy, and sometimes,
[while hitting boy with wand]
Gru: I eat instead of facing my problems!

Catching-Fire-the-hunger-games-33836538-1280-673The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth
Why did I love it?: It’s an outstanding interpretation of the novel, both action packed and with a strong political leaning. Jennifer Lawrence gives a memerising performance of a heroine that is both brave and modest.
Did everyone love it?: Yup. Just about everyone.
Katniss Everdeen: I’m really not in the mood for a lecture. I’ll apologize to Effie later. I thought you were Haymitch.
Peeta Mellark: You don’t have to apologize to anyone, including me. I know it’s not fair on me to hold you to things you said in the games. You saved us, I know that, but I can’t go on acting for the cameras and then just ignoring each other in real life. So if you can stop looking at me like I’m wounded, then I can quit acting like it. Then maybe, we have a shot at being friends.
Katniss Everdeen: I’ve never been very good at friends.
Peeta Mellark: For starters, it does help when you know the person. I hardly know anything about you except that you’re stubborn and good with a bow.
Katniss Everdeen: That about sums me up.
Peeta Mellark: No, there’s more than that you just don’t want to tell me.
Did everyone love it?: It’s been widely praised as being better than the first one

2013_gravity_movie-wideGravity
Starring: Sandra Bullock, George Clooney
Why did I love it?: It’s probably the most beautiful looking film I have ever seen. It was also insanely action packed and tense.
Did everyone love it?: It seems if you didn’t see it in 3D it might have lost something. It’s also been criticised for being light on plot.
“Matt Kowalski: I get it, it’s nice up here. You could just shut down all the systems, turn down all the lights, just close your eyes and tune out everyone. There’s nobody up here that can hurt you. It’s safe. What’s the point of going on? What’s the point of living? Your kid died, it doesn’t get any rougher than that. It’s still a matter of what you do now. If you decide to go then you just gotta get on with it. Sit back, enjoy the ride, you gotta plant both your feet on the ground and start living life. Hey, Ryan, it’s time to go home.

Star-Trek-into-Darkness-wallpaperStar Trek Into Darkness
Starring: Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Benedict Cumberbatch
Why did I love it?: Because Star Trek! And explosions! And Cumberbatch!
Did everyone love it?: Most people did but then quite a few pointed out plot holes the size of buses
Christopher Pike: That’s a technicality.
Spock: I am Vulcan, sir. We embrace technicality.
Christopher Pike: Are you giving me attitude, Spock?
Spock: I am expressing multiple attitudes simultaneously. To which are you referring?

2012, THE GREAT GATSBYThe Great Gatsby
Starring: Tobey Maguire, Carey Mulligan, Leonardo Di Caprio
Why did I love it?: For all the reasons everyone else hated it – the glitz, the mishmash of modern music with old, the purposeful emphasis of style over substance.
Did everyone love it?: Oh god no. This one was just for Baz Luhrman fangirls like me.
Nick Carraway: You can’t repeat the past.
Jay Gatsby: Can’t repeat the past?
Nick Carraway: No…
Jay Gatsby: Why, of course you can… of course you can.

15 thoughts on “My top 10 movies of 2013

  1. Gatsby, huh? Wow. I do not like that movie. At all.

    I am happy enough to see Warm Bodies on your list, though. It won’t make mine (too many other good movies this year), but I did enjoy that one quite a lot.

    • I think it’s all so subjective and I can really appreciate other people’s choices, which is why I love the blogging community. I really enjoy Baz Luhrman’s aesthetic so I guess I was always going to love it but I can see why people didn’t. Warm Bodies is actually the only film I saw twice in the theatre this year.

  2. Gatsby was a really great adaptation from the F. Scott Fitzgerald novel. Gravity was the cherry on the top of the cake for me. And I have to confess that I’m really surprised to see Warm Bodies and Catching Fire in your list. Really great surprises. Finnally I found someone who liked Gatsby! Congrats on your blog! Check out mine too, I’m revealing my top 10 soon. Happy Holidays!

    • Thanks! Glad to see someone else did enjoy Gatsby. I knew it would be a controversial pick. I will make sure I stop by to check out your list!

  3. Great list. And good job doing it already – I think my list will be halfway into January! :-) I already pretty much know them, though. Probably half of yours are also on mine. :-)

  4. I’ve only seen three of the films on your list but glad to see one of those weird subtitled films from another planet that everybody is so terrified of is included!! ;) :P

  5. I love this list, Gatsby was a great movie! The Hunger Games blew my mind completely, I absolutely adored it. All your gushing about that Warm Bodies movie makes me wonder if I should just get over myself and look into it…

    • I’m so glad some other Gatsby fans have crawled out of the woodwork. For ages I really thought it was just me! Lol! Warm Bodies seems to be a bit of a Marmite film. I can see why people hated it but I found it really touching. If you are in any way a purist about zombies or a deep dislike of hipsters I would probably avoid it.

      • LOL! I know the feeling. I don’t know why it was so heavily criticized, it was good! I am a bit of a zombie purist… I suppose we shall wait and see!

The Wild Things are listening...

